FS4: Being aware of binaries

‘I cannot show you the way to enlightenment, but I can merely show you the path that I took’ – (Buddha’s wisdom? Or so quoted from a friend)

Had many good conversations about Buddhism with a Buddhist friend during this trip, was quite lucky to learn more, especially in my home stay as well. Most of the Thai population is Buddhist anyway. We have also been discussing about things like the problems with geography (overly micro/macro, amongst many many other things. We had heated debates and discussions as well. Loved it haha).

Anyway, just a short piece for us to question our comfortableness with binaries. I think this is quite a ‘Western’ (haha be cautious even with this binary) philosophy, quite a modern concept? With Christianity (ah, many people talk about this as well; we think the bible is full of contradictions because we read it with a very literal Western lens, things must be absolute and extreme). – Perhaps I should expand on this one day? There is much to write about this/much that I’ve thought about.

I think I’ve been pretty fortunate to have (been making) friends who are Buddhist/interested in this philosophy (or even other religions like Muslims as well). While I still believe there is such a thing as absolutism, I think we need to acknowledge that we all have our own paths that we need to take – instructions/truths are place and time specific and our own circumstances differ as well.

Most of what we hear are guides rather than truths.

